Past Events

Film
Tuesday 12 Feb 2019
7 - 9:30 p.m.
Film screening of 'Ash Is Purest White', followed by Q&A with the director, Jia Zhangke.
Panel Discussion
Wednesday 30 Jan 2019
4:30 - 6 p.m.
Asia Society Southern California and Asia Society Northern California will be co-hosting a discussion on the change of Asian talent in independent and studio films.
Discussion
Monday 14 Jan 2019
4 - 5:30 p.m.
Steve Stecklow of Reuters on the rise and travails of Chinese tech giant Huawei
Panel Discussion
Saturday 5 Jan 2019
3:30 - 6 p.m.
Panel Discussion with Oscar nominated documentary filmmakers
Film
Tuesday 27 Nov 2018
7:30 - 9 p.m.
Film screening of 'The Girl and The Picture', followed by Q&A with director Vanessa Roth and producer Stephen D. Smith.
Conference
Tuesday 30 Oct 2018
8 a.m. - 9 p.m.
2018 U.S.-China Entertainment Summit & Gala
Film
Tuesday 14 Aug 2018
6 - 9 p.m.
Film Screening of 'A Whale of a Tale' directed/produced by Megumi Sasaki.
Meet the Artist
Tuesday 5 Jun 2018
6:30 - 8:30 p.m.
A cocktail reception and conversation with renowned British photographer Michael Kenna.
Wednesday 9 May 2018
12 - 1:15 p.m.
Elizabeth Economy, CFR's Director for Asia Studies, will discuss the Chinese National People’s Congress decision in March to remove constitutional term limits for presidents.
Discussion
Thursday 3 May 2018
5 - 6 p.m.
The U.S. ambassadors to Indonesia, Laos and Thailand discuss America’s trade and investment relations with Southeast Asia.

Plan Your Visit