Asia Society Seeking Applications for Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism on Asia

January 27, 2014—Asia Society is currently seeking applications for the Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism on Asia. The $10,000 prize is awarded annually to a writer or team of writers who has produced the best example of journalism about Asia during the calendar year. Criteria for the prize include consideration for the impact of the work, its originality, creativity, depth of research and educational value in informing the public about Asia. Submissions must be received by March 7, 2014. The next winner of the “Oz Prize,” whose work was produced during the 2013 calendar year, will be celebrated at a special program at the Asia Society in New York City in June 2014. 

The Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism on Asia honors the late Osborn Elliott, a legendary journalist and author. The former editor-in-chief of Newsweek, he set new standards for reporting and editing and became one of the earliest practitioners of “civic journalism”—the deliberate focusing of the journalistic enterprise on urgent issues of public policy. Recent winners of the Oz prize include a team from Bloomberg News for its “Revolution to Riches,” series on China, April Rabkin of Fast Company magazine for three stories illuminating how Chinese society is changing, Keith Bradsher of The New York Times for a series on China and green technologies, and a team from the International Herald Tribune for coverage of Cyclone Nargis and its aftermath in Burma/Myanmar.

An independent jury of distinguished writers, award-winning journalists and Asia-hands, chaired by Norman Pearlstine, Chief Content Officer at Time Inc. will review nominations and select the winner.

• A submission can consist of a single written article or a cohesive series of articles.
• For the purposes of this award, “Asia” is termed as defined by the Asia Society, comprising of countries from Iran eastward up and including Australia and New Zealand. It does not include the Arab Middle East.
• While applications from non-US outlets will be considered, the work must have been published in English.
• All nominations or direct applications are limited to one per writer/team or publication.

Submissions Requirements:
• A letter or brief statement indicating why the application should be considered.
• Name of journalist(s) being nominated with complete contact information: email, telephone number and mailing address, as well as the name, email and telephone number of the nominee’s editor (self-nominees should inform their editors that we may contact them about your submission).
• A photograph or headshot of journalist for potential use in public announcement of the winner (image may be submitted electronically as a 300dpi print quality image, in .jpeg or .tif format).

Electronic submissions for the prize are encouraged. Please provide the application documentation and journalistic work to be considered as a .pdf file and not that materials should be printable and legible on A3 or A4 letter size paper. Please test prior to submission. Electronic applications should be sent, in the body of one email message, to Please contact us to make file transfer arrangements if your submission is a larger than 10 MB.

If you wish to make a hard copy submission, 15 sets of the nomination letter and journalistic work should be sent to the attention of:
Elaine Merguerian
Director, Communications
Asia Society
725 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10021

All submissions must be complete and received by March 7, 2014.

About Asia Society
Founded in 1956 by John D. Rockefeller 3rd, Asia Society is a nonpartisan, nonprofit educational institution with offices in Hong Kong, Houston, Los Angeles, Manila, Mumbai, New York, San Francisco, Seoul, Sydney and Washington, DC. For more information visit
# # #