The schedule for the 2018 U.S.-China Entertainment Summit and Gala Dinner will be posted soon!


2017 U.S.-China Film Summit and Gala Dinner 

November 1, 2017 

SUMMIT November 1 

Guerin Pavilion, Herscher Hall – Skirball Cultural Center 

8:00 – 9:00 Registration and Opening Reception 

9:00 – 9:10 Opening Remarks 

                   Jonathan Karp, Executive Director, Asia Society Southern California 

                   Janet Yang, Chair, U.S.-China Film Summit

9:10 – 9:25 Spotlight: A History of Storytelling, A Future of Creativity – Fostering U.S.-China Film Industry Relations 

                   Charles H. Rivkin, CEO, Motion Picture Association of America 

9:25 – 10:15 The New Realities of Financing U.S.-China Entertainment 

                     Moderator: Lindsay Conner, Partner, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips 

                     Bennett Pozil, Executive Vice President, East West Bank 

                     Charles Coker, Managing Director, Dasym Media 

                     Daniel Manwaring, Corporate Development Executive, CAA 

                     Steve Ransohoff, CEO, Film Finances 

10:15 – 10:25 Morning Break 

10:25 – 11:20 High-Flying Franchises: What Makes a Film Work on Both Sides of the Pacific 

                       Moderator: Stephen Saltzman, Chair, Asia Entertainment and Media, Loeb & Loeb 

                      Rob Cohen, Director, The Fast and the Furious and xXx 

                      Chris Bremble, Founder and CEO, Base Media 

                      Celina Jade, Actress, Star of Wolf Warrior II  

                      LV Jianmin, Founder, Spring Era Film, and Investor, Wolf Warrior II 

11:20 – 12:05 Independent Chinese and U.S. Films Find New Outlets and Backers 

                      Moderator: Jonathan Landreth, Managing Editor, ChinaFile 

                      ZHANG Yang, Director and Writer 

                      Michael Werner, Former CEO, Fortissimo 

                      WU Man-fang, Dean, School of Management, Beijing Film Academy 

                      JIANG Yanming, President, China Lion Film 

12:05 – 12:10 Film Summit Honoree Presentation: ZHANG Yang 

12:10 – 1:30 Lunch 

12:55 – 1:10 Spotlight: Donald Tang, Founder, Chairman and CEO, Tang Media Partners 

1:30 – 1:50 Spotlight: China’s Evolving Market for International Collaborations 

                   MIAO Xiaotian, President, China Film Co-Production Corporation 

                   In conversation with Seagull Song, Prof., Loyola Law School & Senior Advisor, Hogan Lovells 

1:50 – 2:40 How Digital Content, Marketing and Distribution are Changing the Game 

                   Moderator: Matt Pressberg, China and Film Business Reporter, TheWrap 

                   Jonathan Perelman, Head of Digital, ICM Partners 

                   Catherine Zhang, Director, International Content Creation, Youku Tudou 

                   Kane Lee, Chief Content Officer, Baobab Studios 

                   Shiraz Akmal, Co-Founder and CEO, SPACES Inc. 

2:40 – 3:15 Spotlight: The Making of Innovative Partnerships 

                   Ellen Eliasoph, President and CEO, Perfect Village Entertainment Group 

                   Jie LIAN, CEO, Perfect Word Pictures, and Chairman, Perfect Village 

                   Alexis Garcia, Partner, Endeavor Content 

                   In conversation with Stacey Rosenberg, Partner, Hogan Lovells 

3:15 – 3:45 Afternoon Break 

3:45 – 4:05 Honoree Spotlight: YU Dong, Founder, Chairman and CEO, Bona Film Group                               In conversation with Barbara Robinson, Producer

4:05 – 5:00 Studio Row: After Laying Foundations, Hollywood Players Fine-Tune China Strategies 

                   Moderator: Patrick Frater, Asia Editor, Variety

                   Tomas Jegeus, President, Fox International Productions 

                   Wendy Reeds, Executive Vice President, Lionsgate- 

                   Elaine Chin, Producer 

                   Gillian Zhao, EVP and Managing Director, Warner Bros. China 

5:00 – 5:20 Honoree Spotlight: 

                   FENG Xiaogang, Writer, Director and Actor 

                   Geling YAN, Novelist and Screenwriter 

                   In conversation with Jonah Greenberg, President, Motion Pictures, CAA China 

5:20 – 5:25 Closing remarks 

5:25 – 6:30 No Host Reception 


GALA DINNER Ahmanson Hall – Skirball Cultural Center 

6:00 – 7:15 Gala Reception 

7:15 – 9:00 Gala Dinner Honoring: 

2017 U.S.-China Film Industry Leadership Award: YU Dong, Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Bona Film Group 

2017 U.S.-China Arts Visionary Award: Dawn Hudson, Chief Executive Officer, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences 

2017 Lifetime Achievement Award: FENG Xiaogang, Writer, Director and Actor 


Ludi LIN, Actor 

Special Guests: 

ZHANG Jingchu, Actor 

Celina Jade, Actor 

Xia LI, Former MTV China Host