Asia Society Announces Three Finalists for 2017 Osborn Elliott Journalism Prize

NEW YORK, April 26, 2017 — Asia Society announced today three finalists for the 2017 Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism on Asia. The selection was made by an independent jury chaired by Marcus Brauchli, who recognized the following:

  • Ellen Barry of the New York Times “for her beautifully descriptive accounts of the conflict between deep-set traditions and the propulsive changes of India's modernizing economy."
  • Anna Fifield of the Washington Post “for her remarkable reporting on the long, dark shadow North Korea casts and the curious ways of its ruling classes.”
  • Reuters “for its forthright and courageous coverage of the Philippines' vigilante-style, state-sanctioned drug war, in which thousands were killed last year in mysterious and often suspicious circumstances.”

The winner among these finalists will be announced the week of May 1, and will be honored at a luncheon event at Asia Society in New York on May 23. The $10,000 cash award is presented annually to the best example of journalism about Asia during the previous calendar year.

Commenting on this year’s entries for the prize, Brauchli stated: “We continue to see very enterprising reporting coming out of the region…smart, resourceful journalism by Asia-based outlets and writers at a level that we haven’t seen in the past.”

The “Oz Prize” Jury comprises Chair Marcus Brauchli, managing partner of North Base Media and former editor of the Washington Post and the Wall Street Journal; Dorinda Elliott, editorial and communications director, Paulson Institute; Mei Fong, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author; Bobby Ghosh, editor-in-chief, Hindustan Times; Alec McCabe, executive producer, Bloomberg Podcasts; and Somini Sengupta, UN bureau chief, New York Times.

The Oz Prize honors the late Osborn Elliott, legendary journalist, author and former editor-in-chief of Newsweek. Elliott was a leading figure in the field of journalism who became one of the earliest practitioners of “civic journalism”—the deliberate focusing of the journalistic enterprise on urgent issues of public policy.

Find out more about the Oz Prize, including previous winners at