Apply Now: Philippines 21 Young Leaders Initiative

The Philippines 21 Class of 2010 with Ramon Magsaysay awardee, Mayor Tadatoshi Akiba of Hiroshima.

Twenty-five years after a generation of freedom fighters toppled a dictatorship, a new crop of game-changers are emerging. Asia Society-Philippines honors dynamic individuals who are at the forefront of change in their respective fields, through the Philippines 21 Young Leaders Initiative. A flagship program of Asia Society-Philippines, the Philippines 21 Young Leaders Initiative aims to develop a nationwide, multi-sectoral network of change-makers, who will meet, educate and inspire each other, collaborate and share ideas on public service and other meaningful initiatives, and build relationships of trust and understanding.

Nominees must be between 25-40 years old, of Filipino citizenship, and have substantial leadership experience in their chosen field, including but not limited to the following: academe, business, civil society, media, arts and culture, military, and government. Prospective Philippines 21 Fellows must also demonstrate a commitment to devote time and effort to achieve the goals and projects set by their Class.

Upon selection as a Philippines 21 Fellows, the Class of 2010 will convene at a two-day forum where they will engage in roundtable discussions on issues concerning the Philippines and the Asia Pacific region. This will be in preparation for their participation in the international program, with the ultimate goal of developing projects to address these issues. The annual Forum is held in the last week of August.

Philippines 21 Fellows serve as the country’s official delegation to the Asia 21 Young Leaders Summit, organized annually by Asia Society’s New York headquarters. This year’s Summit, (date and location TBD), will bring together some 200 of the most dynamic next generation leaders from Asia and the United States.

The 2010 Fellows join an illustrious roster of Fellows such as the eminent DNA scientist Cora de Ungria, IT and gaming entrepreneur Enrique Gonzalez, CNN 2009 Hero of the Year Efren Peñaflorida, Jr., and Rags2Riches president Rolex Young Laureate Reese Fernandez.

Deadline for nominations is on May 31, 2011. Shortlisted candidates will be notified by mid-June.