Thomas Donilon, National Security Advisor to President Barack Obama

Thomas Donilon, National Security Advisor to President Barack Obama

Asia: Beyond the Headlines — The United States and the Asia-Pacific in 2013
White House National Security Advisor Thomas Donilon speaks at a daily press briefing at the White House in Washington, DC on May 17, 2012. (Brendan Smialowski/AFP/GettyImages)

Watch the complete video of Thomas Donilon's appearance at Asia Society here. For a transcript of his speech, click here.

The world’s economic, political, and strategic center of gravity is shifting toward the Asia-Pacific. Since its first days in office, the Obama administration has therefore pursued a rebalancing of foreign, economic, and defense policy priorities toward the Asia Pacific. This rebalance, according to National Security Advisor Thomas Donilon, is working to “sustain a stable security environment and a regional order rooted in economic openness, peaceful resolution of disputes, democratic governance, and political freedom.” Currently, that order faces challenges ranging from cybersecurity to North Korea to territorial disputes. Gains, including economic growth and the transition underway in Myanmar, must still be cemented.

National Security Advisor Thomas Donilon will deliver remarks offering the Obama administration’s views on the path ahead for the United States in Asia in the areas of security, democracy, trade, and economics.

SPEAKER:

Thomas Donilon is National Security Advisor to President Barack Obama. From 2009 to 2010, he served as Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Advisor. He chaired the State Department’s transition effort in 2008. Prior to this, he was a partner at O’Melveny & Myers LLP and served as a member of the firm’s global governing committee. He has worked closely with and advised three U.S. Presidents since his first position at the White House working with President Carter. He served in the Clinton Administration as Assistant Secretary of State and Chief of Staff of the Department.

EVENT DETAILS:

12:00-12:45 pm: Registration
1:00-2:00 pm: Remarks and discussion

(Due to security procedures, doors will close promptly at 12:45 pm. We ask that everyone please be seated at that time.)

Can't make it to this program? Tune in to AsiaSociety.org/Live at 1:00 pm ET for a free live webcast. Online viewers are encouraged to submit their questions to moderator@asiasociety.org before and during the program.

Local viewing times:

California: 10:00 am | Houston: 12:00 pm

Mumbai: 10:30 pm | Hong Kong: 1:00 am (3/12)
Manila: 1:00 am (3/12) | 
Seoul: 2:00 am (3/12) | Sydney: 4:00 am (3/12)

This program is part of Asia: Beyond the Headlines, a series of conversations with leading policy makers and thought leaders about the critical issues facing the United States and Asia.

Event Details

11 March 2013
1:00pm - 2:00pm

725 Park Ave. (at 70th St.)

If you bought tickets or plan to watch the webcast, tell your friends on Facebook!