SKIP X

Joseph Stiglitz: Income Inequality and Future Prosperity (SOLD OUT)

Joseph Stiglitz: Income Inequality and Future Prosperity (SOLD OUT)

Business of Asia
Joseph Stiglitz, Professor of Economics, Columbia University.

Missed this program? Watch the complete video.

* Reception from 7:45 to 8:45 pm

In his last book, Joseph Stiglitz convincingly made the case that the Iraq War will cost $3 trillion; now, the Nobel Prize-winning economist is creating waves again with his latest work: The Price of Inequality (W.W. Norton, 2012).

Throughout the past election cycle, politicians on both sides of the aisle discussed the haves and have-nots, the makers and takers, the so-called one percent and the 99 percent. Now, Stiglitz argues that the top one percent have failed to recognize their fate is tied to how the other 99 percent live.

Stiglitz also argues that growing inequality is not inevitable: moneyed interests compound their wealth by stifling true, dynamic capitalism. He also examines the current economic climate, its implications for democracy, for monetary and budgetary policy, and for globalization.

Join HBSCNY and Asia Society for this event, moderated by William D. Cohan, contributing editor at Vanity Fair. The program will be followed by a book sale and signing. 

Joseph E. Stiglitz is a professor of economics at Columbia University and Co-Chair of Columbia University's Committee on Global Thought. He is the recipient of a Nobel Prize and a John Bates Clark Metal. Stiglitz is the former senior vice president and chief economist of the World Bank. His books include Globalization and Its Discontents, The Three Trillion Dollar War, and Making Globalization Work. Stiglitz holds degrees from Amherst College and MIT.

William D. Cohan, a former senior Wall Street investment banker, is the bestselling author of Money and Power: How Goldman Sachs Came to Rule the World, House of Cards: A Tale of Hubris and Wretched Excess on Wall Street, and The Last Tycoons: The Secret History of Lazard Frères & Co. He is a contributing editor at Vanity Fair and writes a weekly opinion column for BloombergView. He is a graduate of Duke University, Columbia University School of Journalism and Columbia Business School.

 

Presented in collaboration with:

 

Can't make it to this program? Tune in to AsiaSociety.org/Live at 6:30 pm ET for a free live video webcast. Viewers are encouraged to submit questions to [email protected].

Local viewing times:

California: 3:30 pm | Houston: 5:30 pm

Mumbai: 4:00 am (4/10) | Hong Kong: 6:30 am (4/10)
Manila: 6:30 am (4/10) | 
Seoul: 7:30 am (4/10) | Sydney: 8:30 am (4/10)

Event Details

9 April 2013
6:30pm - 7:45pm

725 Park Avenue (at East 70th Street), New York, NY

Members: $20; students/seniors: $22; nonmembers: $25