The Democratic Journey of Pakistan

The Democratic Journey of Pakistan

Asia: Beyond the Headlines
Hina Rabbani Khar, Foreign Minister of Pakistan. (Elsa Ruiz/Asia Society)

Missed this program? Watch the complete video.

Can't make it to this program? Tune in to AsiaSociety.org/Live at 6:30 pm ET for a free live video webcast. Viewers are encouraged to submit questions to [email protected].

Local viewing times:

California: 3:30 pm | Houston: 5:30 pm
 | Mumbai: 5 am
 (1/16) | Hong Kong: 7:30 am (1/16)
Manila: 7:30 am (1/16) | 
Seoul: 8:30 am (1/16)
 | Sydney: 10:30 am (1/16)


In an address and discussion, Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar of Pakistan will answer the most vexing questions facing the U.S. and South Asia. Can Pakistan win its struggle against violent extremism? While Pakistan has made great strides in holding democratic elections, creating stronger institutions, empowering women, and increasing the role of media and civil society groups, the already vulnerable region runs the risk of a further security degradation as NATO and U.S. forces withdraw from Afghanistan in 2014. As the U.S. public becomes increasingly impatient with respect to the Afghanistan conflict, how can Pakistan's government effectively deal with extremism, while also keeping diplomatic channels with the U.S. and other global powers open?

The discussion with Foreign Minister Khar will be moderated by Joe Klein, political columnist for Time.

 

Pakistani Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani KharForeign Minister Khar, who is a businesswoman by profession, hails from one of the least-developed parts of Pakistan. She graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Economics from Lahore University of Management Sciences and obtained a Master of Science degree in Business Management from the University of Massachusetts Amherst. She became Minster of Foreign Affairs in 2011.

 

 

Joe KleinIn addition to being Time's political columnist, Joe Klein is author of six books, most recently Politics Lost. His weekly Time column, "In the Arena," covers national and international affairs. In 2004 he won the National Headliner Award for best magazine column.

 

 

 

Asia: Beyond the Headlines is a series of conversations with leading policymakers and thought leaders about the critical issues facing the United States and Asia.

Event Details

15 January 2013
6:30pm - 7:30pm

725 Park Avenue (at 70th Street), New York, NY

Members: $10; students/seniors: $12; nonmembers: $15
If you bought tickets or plan to watch the webcast, tell your friends on Facebook!