Worldwide Locations

Worldwide Locations

Live Webcast: Pervez Musharraf, Tue, 10/19, 12:30 pm CT

Oct 18, 2010
Description : 

Free live video webcast on AsiaSociety.org/Live
12:30 to 2:00 pm CT (1:30 to 3:00 pm ET)
Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2010

Former Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf will speak at 12:30 noon on Tuesday, October 19 at the Omni Houston Hotel. Asia Society Texas Center is co-hosting the luncheon event in conjunction with the Greater Houston Partnership.

Mr. Musharraf resigned from the Pakistan presidency in August 2008 after serving seven years in that post. As Army Chief of Staff he came to power in 1999 following a bloodless coup by the Pakistan military.

Following the Sept. 11 attacks on the United States, he became an important US ally in the fight against Al Qaeda. Later the relationship with the United States grew more complicated as Mr. Musharraf sought to balance cooperation with the United States with rising pressure from Islamist groups in Pakistan.

On October 1 in London Mr. Musharraf pledged to return to Pakistan from self-imposed exile to run for President in the national elections set for 2013. He also announced the formation of a new political party, the All Pakistan Muslim League. In his Houston talk he is expected to discuss his political plans as well as the overall security situation in the region.

According to the New York Times, at his London press conference Mr. Musharraf vowed to galvanize Pakistanis "to fight a jihad against poverty, hunger, illiteracy, and backwardness."

Webcast Times:

12:30-2:00 pm Central

1:30-3:00 pm Eastern

10:30 pm-12:00 midnight Islamabad

Photo: Exiled former Pakistani president Pervez Musharraf addresses a press conference in London on October 1, 2010. (Ben Stansall/AFP/Getty Images)