Asia Society Announces Six Finalists for Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism on Asia

NEW YORK, May 5, 2015 — Asia Society is pleased to announce that six outstanding pieces of reporting on Asia have been selected as finalists for the 2015 Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism on Asia.

The finalists are:

  • Hannah Beech, TIME for series on the lingering catastrophe of Fukushima
  • Rakteem Katakey, Tom Lasseter and Rajesh Kumar Singh, Bloomberg News for stories on industrial pollution in India
  • Annam Suresh, Fountain Ink on violent abuse of boys and transgender kids in India
  • The New York Times team (Jonathan Ansfield, David Barboza, Chris Buckley, Michael Forsythe, Andrew Jacobs, Ian Johnson, Didi Kirsten Tatlow, Edward Wong) coverage of China’s anticorruption campaign
  • The New York Times team (Choe Sang-Hun, Martin Fackler, Kirk Semple, Su-Hyun Lee, Alison Leigh Cowan) coverage of the South Korean ferry disaster
  • Reuters team (David Lague, Greg Torode, James Pomfret and Benjamin Kang Lim) coverage of Hong Kong protests and the Chinese government’s response

A winner from among these finalists will be announced the week of May 11. The award — a $10,000 cash prize — will be presented at a luncheon program on Wednesday, June 3, 2015 at Asia Society in New York.

Jury Chairman Marcus Brauchli, managing partner of North Base Media and former editor of the The Washington Post and the Wall Street Journal, praised the quality and breadth of applications and praised the selected finalists.

“This year’s Oz Prize Jury reviewed an exceptionally strong and wide-ranging group of applicants from large and relatively well-resourced to smaller regional outlets,” Brauchli said.” Our aim is to recognize first rate journalism and its impact, wherever it is generated. We have found, in this group of finalists, inspiring examples of first rate accountability journalism.”

The Oz Prize Jury is comprised of: Marcus Brauchli; Dorinda Elliott, editorial and communications director, Paulson Institute; Michael Elliott, ONE Foundation and former Deputy Managing Editor, TIME; Alec McCabe, Americas Team Leader for Training, Bloomberg News; Richard McGregor, Washington Bureau Chief, Financial Times; Pramit Pal Chaudhuri, Senior Editor, Hindustan Times; Carla Anne Robbins, Adjunct Senior Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations and former Deputy Editorial Page Editor, The New York Times; and Anthony Spaeth, Chief Editor, JoongAng Daily.

The “Oz Prize” honors the late Osborn Elliott, legendary journalist, author and former editor-in-chief of Newsweek. Elliott was a leading figure in the field of journalism who became one of the earliest practitioners of “civic journalism”—the deliberate focusing of the journalistic enterprise on urgent issues of public policy. The Oz Prize is awarded annually for the best example of journalism about Asia during the calendar year.

Previous winners of the prize are: Reuters team (2014), Bloomberg News team (2013), April Rabkin, Fast Company (2012), Keith Bradsher of The New York Times (2010), International Herald Tribune team (2009), Shai Oster of The Wall Street Journal (2008), Evan Osnos of the Chicago Tribune (2007), Barbara Demick of the Los Angeles Times and Matthew McAllester of Newsday (2006), Philip P. Pan of The Washington Post (2005), John Pomfret of The Washington Post (2004) and Elisabeth Rosenthal of The New York Times (2003).

Fore more information, visit